The spokes logo

Leicester Spokes Cycling Group

Leicester's Friendly Social Cycling Group

Welcome!

Leicester Spokes is social cycling group that was established in 1983. We offer bike rides up to 3 times a week on Wednesdays, Saturdays and alternate Sundays. We also organise weekends away including cycle camping trips and cycle tours.

Every Wednesday evening we offer a ride of about two hours, starting from the shops on Western Boulevard next to Bede Park at 7pm and ending at a pub within 2 miles of the city centre. This is a moderate paced ride of about 10mph that visits villages around Leicester, about 15 to 20 miles in length.

Every Saturday we offer a faster ride of at least 30 miles at about 12mph, starting from Bede Park at 10am.

Alternate Sundays we offer a ride of about 30 miles at about 10mph, including a lunch stop at a pub or tea room, starting from Bede Park at 10:30am.

Please ensure you bring a spare inner tube on all rides as well as fully charged lights on evening rides.


2016 05 Peak District/2016 05 07 Peak Dist 13

Forthcoming Events

00:00 Sun 29th May 2016

0 mile ride from Bede Park to Hartington W/E.

19:00 Wed 1st Jun 2016

Local Ride from Bede Park.

10:00 Sat 4th Jun 2016

63 mile ride from Bede Park to Hallaton. Lunch at Hallaton. Based on Inner Circle audax route(Reversed direction). 63 hilly miles

19:00 Wed 8th Jun 2016

Local Ride from Bede Park.

10:00 Sat 11th Jun 2016

60 mile ride from Bede Park to TBA. TBA

10:30 Sun 12th Jun 2016

0 mile ride from Bede Park to TBA.

10:00 Sat 18th Jun 2016

50 mile ride from Bede Park to TBA. TBA

10:30 Sat 18th Jun 2016

Rally at York. If camping, then mention Spokes when booking. Several Spokes members have shown interest in attending - more details to follow

10:00 Sun 19th Jun 2016

Rally at York.

10:30 Sun 26th Jun 2016

0 mile ride from Bede Park to TBA.

09:00 Sat 2nd Jul 2016

110 mile ride from St Pancras Stn, London to Leicester. Ride back from London, by invitation

08:00 Fri 2nd Sep 2016

Tour at . Stay in southern Holland for 1 week. See email to members sent early January

Event details were last updated on 26 May 2016.